Asimbonanga

We have not seen him.

We have not seen Mandela,

In the place where he is,

In the place where he is kept.

I am not a colour, nor shall I ever be.

For I am a blank page;

Though every second I colour myself in,

With the paintbrush and pallet of life.

No one can hold my paintbrush,

No one can seize my pallet,

But I see their pages and I understand.

I understand why they want to take my freedom,

For they have taken their own.

But I must forgive them.

Otherwise my canvas will start to shriek like theirs

And my page will no longer be a myriad of colours,

But it will twist up and die.

 

I am defiant.

I will always have my paintbrush and pallet.

Leave a Reply

